Quoi de neuf ?

Bienvenue sur Psychonaut.fr !

En vous enregistrant, vous pourrez discuter de psychotropes, écrire vos meilleurs trip-reports et mieux connaitre la communauté

Je m'inscris!

Winter care for poor growing San Pedro?

magickstar

Glandeuse pinéale
Inscrit
12 Sept 2008
I am a complete novice with cactus growing and indeed consuming. I have a 2 yr old San Pedro that has not grown very much since I got it. The first year I had it in a pot outdoors (I now know that the pot had the wrong ratio of width to depth and was definitely too narrow for the roots).

I brought it indoors in the first winter. This was not because of the climate but for security because we went travelling for 3 months. In that time it had very little, if any water.

The guy I bought it from at the Boom Festival, had a cactus growing business in southern Spain, with most of his plants growing outdoors. He said that with the similar climate between his location and ours in Portugal, we could safely leave the San Pedro outside. He said that the occasional frost in winter would not be a problem and the main thing to avoid was letting it stay water-logged.

As a result, I decided this year to plant it out straight in the ground in a place with free drainage. I gave it a couple of doses of cactus fertiliser this spring. I left it fairly dry all summer and am now thinking this was a mistake. Now I have to decide what to do with it before winter sets in again.